States / Oregon


Coastal Management

The focus is on managing coastal areas to increase resilience, with an emphasis on balancing environmental, economic, and human wellbeing. Mandated by the Coastal Zone Management Act, the two federal programs designed for this task are the National Coastal Zone Management Program and the National Estuarine Research Reserve System. Programs are administered, on the federal side, by NOAA’s Office for Coastal Management, in partnership with the coastal states.

The sun sets on a cloudy day, reflecting over the ocean with rocks in the foreground.

State Programs

Coastal Zone Management

Oregon Coastal Management Program. Established in 1977, the program is led by the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development. To handle Oregon's coastal resources, various federal and state agencies, cities, and counties play a role. Ten state agencies, 33 cities, and seven counties have policies in place to support the program. Additionally, four coastal tribes are essential partners in preserving the natural and cultural heritage of native people on the Oregon coast. The Oregon coastal zone covers coastal watersheds and extends inland to the crest of the coast range, with a few exceptions.

National Estuarine Research Reserves

South Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve. Designated in 1974 and protecting 4,771 acres, the site is located five miles south of Charleston, Oregon, on the South Slough of the Coos Bay estuary. It protects both upland and lowland habitats. The uplands are characterized by steep slopes that support forests and stream systems that supply fresh water to the estuary. The lowlands contain freshwater wetlands and ponds, salt marshes and islands, sand and mud flats, and eelgrass beds. Habitats found within the reserve support salmon and other native fish, herons, bald eagles, migrating waterfowl, elk, river otters, beavers, oysters, and crabs. (See handout)